top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePayton

A prayer for the tired heart

Hey, friend. If you clicked on this post, I can imagine you're about to your wit's end, as people from my hometown would say. We all get tired every now and again, but sometimes we feel like we're at the end of our ropes and we just want to allow ourselves to fall apart because holding it together all the time is just so exhausting. We spread ourselves too thin, afraid of letting others down because we always put the needs of others before our needs. If that sounds like you, let me pray for you.


Father, I come to you now to pray for the sweet soul reading this post. I pray that whoever they are, you will meet them where they are in life and give them rest and peace. Help them to have the strength to "fall apart," knowing full and well that you will put them back together.


Lord, the strongest people are the ones who allow themselves to crumble at the foot of your Cross. The ones who allow themselves to have a moment every once in a while. The ones who have that occasional meltdown, that non-productive afternoon where all they want to do is sleep, that long shower where they just stand there because it's the only time to truly stand there and be still.


Your Word says that your strength is made perfect in our weakness. In the world we live in today, it's easy to spread ourselves too thin and to take on more than we can handle. It's easy to neglect our own needs because the needs of others are so obvious to us and so much easier to tend to than to truly sit down and figure out what it is that we need.


I know that whoever is reading this came here for a reason. Heavenly Father, I pray that they will give themself the grace to take time to rest. We've all heard the saying "you can't pour from an empty cup," and that's so incredibly true, Lord. I pray that you will place opportunities in our lives where we can be still and allow you to fill our cups for us.


I know that your Word says to be still and know that you are God. We are constantly on the run, and that's exactly the opposite of what you call us to do. Jesus, please help us remember the importance and the power of true stillness and rest.


I pray for the heart of whoever is reading this. I pray that you will give them the restoration that they need to continue to run towards their God-given destiny.


I ask these things, Father, in Your sweet name. Amen


Okay friend, I hope you will take that to heart. I hope that you will allow yourself rest and that you will pray for yourself as well. I know it's something I need to work on.


XO,

Payton

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Nursing school must-haves: books

It's time for the first post of my nursing school must-have series! In this post, I will go through the supplemental books I have that I use to study. I will not include the textbooks that were requir

Why now is the best time to join my team

Fall is the absolute best time to say yes to wellness, and I will give you 5 reasons why. 5: your immune system Everybody knows fall is when we all start falling below the wellness line. If you join m

Nursing school must-haves: introduction

Time for a series! Every week, I will be posting about my must-have products for nursing school. Ranging from big things like books, supplemental resources, clinical items, all the way down to pens an

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page