top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePayton

Netflix shows that have helped me survive quarantine

Just like pretty much everyone else, I have been spending a lot more time at home over the past three months or so. Honestly, I don't mind it because I'm a homebody to begin with. However, I quickly realized I would need to reactivate my Netflix account so I could have something to do.


Here are my favorite shows that I've watched so far and why I've loved them so much! Some of them are super basic, but still on my must-see list.


#5- Tiger King

What kind of quarantine Netflix list would this be if I didn't talk about Tiger King at least once? If you haven't seen it yet, I know with almost complete certainty that you've seen the memes or the TikToks, even if you don't realize it. This show was seven hours of my life that I'll never get back, but I'm not mad. It sucks you in from the get-go and when you think it won't get any crazier, Joe Exotic and Carole Baskin prove you wrong. If you don't like foul language or are easily offended, this show might not be the best for you. If you don't mind those things and want to go down a rabbit hole of utter insanity, Tiger King is no doubt the place to go.


#4- Hart of Dixie

This show isn't new by any means, and I haven't even finished season one yet, but it's a pretty good show so far! It's super hallmark-y, but that's honestly the whole reason behind watching it. We all need a little hallmark in our lives. My mom and I literally started this show last night because we didn't know what else to watch and we're already hooked. A series about a New York surgeon turned small-town Alabama general practice physician, this show really does show the heart of Small Town USA.


#3- All American

When my family and I first started this series, we thought it would be all about football. We were wrong, but we still could NOT stop watching it. Spencer James is the perfect example of a young man working hard to escape the spiral of bad luck and poverty that went back several generations. In light of recent events surrounding racism and the Black community, this show is very eye-opening, especially considering the fact that it is based off of a true story. We finished it in a couple of days and can't wait for the next season to come on!


#2- Dead to Me

Much like Tiger King, this show is not for the faint of heart. I like to describe it as a murder mystery, except you know all along what happened. This show follows new-found friends Jenn and Judy as they work together to hide their secrets and live a normal life. The short episodes make this super easy to follow along. The cliffhangers at the end of pretty much each episode make it nearly impossible to turn this one off. The twists and turns in the plot make me super excited to see the third and final season when it gets released.


#1- The Office

Quarantine or not, it wouldn't be a Netflix recommendation list without the best show ever. I'll go ahead and say it, I've only seen The Office all the way through once, but I go back quite frequently and rewatch my favorite episodes. Michael, Jim, Pam, Dwight, Stanley, and everyone else from Dunder Mifflin Scranton never fail to make me smile, no matter how good or bad my day has been. I will be doing another post sometime later about my favorite episodes of this classic mockumentary sitcom. For now, all I have to say is push past the first season or so and you won't regret it.


And there we have it, my top five Netflix shows that have helped me get through quarantine! Have you watched any of these? What are your Netflix recommendations that didn't make my list?


XO,

Payton

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Nursing school must-haves: books

It's time for the first post of my nursing school must-have series! In this post, I will go through the supplemental books I have that I use to study. I will not include the textbooks that were requir

Why now is the best time to join my team

Fall is the absolute best time to say yes to wellness, and I will give you 5 reasons why. 5: your immune system Everybody knows fall is when we all start falling below the wellness line. If you join m

Nursing school must-haves: introduction

Time for a series! Every week, I will be posting about my must-have products for nursing school. Ranging from big things like books, supplemental resources, clinical items, all the way down to pens an

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page