top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePayton

Why I chose nursing

This is a question I get asked a lot: why do you want to be a nurse? I never know what to say, because words can't really explain why I know God called me to the field of nursing.


From my earliest memories, I have always been super passionate about helping people. I have a picture of my cousin and I when I was maybe three or four with a toy stethoscope trying to listen to her heart, so I guess it was kind of inevitable.


If only it were that easy! It was a long and winding road before I ended up where I am. I thought I wanted to be an engineer or a high school physics teacher, so I started out down the path to do both. I was going to get my associates in science, and then transfer to a school where I could double major in physics and mechanical engineering with a minor in secondary education. I could have my education degree to fall back on if my engineering career didn't work out, or I could go the teaching route initially, with my engineering degree as a fall back plan if I wanted a change of pace. I thought I had it all planned out.


That was, until I started college. I took calculus-based physics for engineers, or something like that, and calculus II my first semester of college. I know, it was crazy. I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I was good at physics and calculus in high school, so I can do this too, I told myself. But boy was I wrong.


I cried, I prayed, I studied, I almost gave up. I asked God to close the door for me if teaching wasn't where he wanted me to be. He closed it, and that was that. I was so confused and didn't know where to go. I thought "maybe I can still be a teacher, just not high school physics" "maybe I could go to medical school and be a neurosurgeon" (thanks, Dr. Shepherd, I rode that wave for a while), "maybe I could go to PA school and run my own practice," and "maybe I could go to nursing school and deliver babies like my cousin."


My mom sat down with me and we decided that for the next semester, I would take classes that could overlap between nursing and education. That upcoming summer, I would take a class to get my CNA certificate and that would help me decide for the fall semester, which was my sophomore year so I was close to declaring a major.


I remember so vividly the first week of my CNA class when one of my teachers said "all nurses are teachers." That was like a big epiphany, and I remember going home that day so happy and couldn't wait to tell my parents what my teacher had said.


Fast forward a year later, and I was starting my first semester of nursing school. I wish I could tell you this was an easy journey, but I know I can tell you that it has been 100% worth it. I have had patient encounters that have broke my heart, and I've had ones that made me see the good in the world. That's the beautiful thing about nursing.


I have so much happiness and peace knowing I can lay my head down at night and know that I am exactly where God wants me to be and that I am gonna be a dang good nurse.


XO,

Payton

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Nursing school must-haves: books

It's time for the first post of my nursing school must-have series! In this post, I will go through the supplemental books I have that I use to study. I will not include the textbooks that were requir

Why now is the best time to join my team

Fall is the absolute best time to say yes to wellness, and I will give you 5 reasons why. 5: your immune system Everybody knows fall is when we all start falling below the wellness line. If you join m

Nursing school must-haves: introduction

Time for a series! Every week, I will be posting about my must-have products for nursing school. Ranging from big things like books, supplemental resources, clinical items, all the way down to pens an

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page