top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePayton

Why I love my job...

This past week, I started my dream job as a CNA on a labor and delivery/women's services floor at a local hospital! I worked three days during my first week and I loved every minute of it. My first day was suuuper busy, but it was honestly the best way to start out because I knew quickly that I would enjoy the fast-paced environment on those types of days. I got to watch my first c-section first thing that morning, and it was so beautiful. Some of you may be thinking I'm crazy for thinking a major surgery was beautiful, so let me explain.


The birth of a child is an important and unforgettable moment in the lives of those involved. Whether it be baby number one or number twelve, childbirth is a beautiful, painful, messy, amazing thing. As women, our bodies are pushed to the limit, and our physical, mental, and emotional strength are truly tested during pregnancy and delivery.


No matter if it's a natural vaginal delivery or a c-section, seeing a child be brought into this world is such a beautiful thing. I have no children of my own so I have no clue how it feels to be the one birthing that child, but I can't imagine how painfully empowering it would be. Knowing that you grew a human inside of you and you're now bringing it to life has got to be a rewarding, yet likely overwhelming, emotion.


The look on the faces of those sweet parents when they first got to hold their newborn baby was something I will probably remember for the rest of my life. It was truly love at first sight, and it made me excited to experience that feeling for myself one day.


For now, seeing others have children will have to do because ya girl has quite a bit of school left. BUT I do know that I absolutely love labor and delivery and I'm so thankful for this job and for what it's taught me so far!


XO,

Payton

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Nursing school must-haves: books

It's time for the first post of my nursing school must-have series! In this post, I will go through the supplemental books I have that I use to study. I will not include the textbooks that were requir

Why now is the best time to join my team

Fall is the absolute best time to say yes to wellness, and I will give you 5 reasons why. 5: your immune system Everybody knows fall is when we all start falling below the wellness line. If you join m

Nursing school must-haves: introduction

Time for a series! Every week, I will be posting about my must-have products for nursing school. Ranging from big things like books, supplemental resources, clinical items, all the way down to pens an

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page